Last name, first name for patient names.

Most commonly desired features to be implemented in PacsOne
Post Reply
dustinn3
Posts:34
Joined:Fri Jan 21, 2005 10:43 pm
Last name, first name for patient names.

Post by dustinn3 » Fri Mar 11, 2005 8:28 pm

I was curious if you can change the way patients are displayed. Every other modality and workstation we use has the patients listed as last name, first name. Even our RIS is setup that way. It would be a lot easier to find a patient, especially when some modalities don't have seperate field for first and last names. Then they display just the opposite of the other names.

Thanks,

Dustin

pacsone
Site Admin
Posts:3149
Joined:Tue Sep 30, 2003 2:47 am

Post by pacsone » Fri Mar 11, 2005 8:55 pm

It's quite easy to change the display name format.

The reason for using the current "Firstname Lastname" format is because sometimes some modality would input the wrong name information, e.g., instead of setting "John" as the firstname, "Doe" as the lastname, some modalities would set "John Doe" as the lastname. So when displaying information for such images, if we use the 'Lastname, Firstname' syntax, the example above would become:

John Doe,

But if we use the current format, even with the wrong name information, it'll still be displayed as:

John Doe

dustinn3
Posts:34
Joined:Fri Jan 21, 2005 10:43 pm

Post by dustinn3 » Sat Mar 12, 2005 1:36 am

I don't think we will have an issue with that. The ones that are just sending the last name information are currently coming across as Doe, John. They always enter last name first in those modalities. Which scripts do I have to edit?

pacsone
Site Admin
Posts:3149
Joined:Tue Sep 30, 2003 2:47 am

Post by pacsone » Sat Mar 12, 2005 1:46 am

It's in the script display.php function displayPatients, you can change the following from:

$columns["Patient Name"] = $row["firstname"] . " ";
if ($row["middlename"])
$columns["Patient Name"] .= $row["middlename"] . " ";
$columns["Patient Name"] .= $row["lastname"];

To:

$columns["Patient Name"] = $row["lastname"] . ",";
$columns["Patient Name"] .= $row["firstname"];
if (strlen($row["middlename"]))
$columns["Patient Name"] .= " " . $row["middlename"];

Post Reply