Instalation problem under ubuntu

Trouble during PacsOne Server installations
Post Reply
maferre
Posts:5
Joined:Sun Mar 04, 2007 9:47 pm
Instalation problem under ubuntu

Post by maferre » Sun Mar 04, 2007 9:52 pm

when I am trying to install pacsone in ubuntu i had a message like this
root@mferre-desktop:/home/mferre/pacsone# ./install.sh
Checking for pre-requisites...
libtool package is required but not installed.


Is anybody can help me please.
Thans a lot

pacsone
Site Admin
Posts:3149
Joined:Tue Sep 30, 2003 2:47 am

Post by pacsone » Mon Mar 05, 2007 5:26 am

The error seems to suggest that the libtool package was not installed on your server. To verify, you can run the following command from a shell:

Code: Select all

# which libtool
If the command does not return with the path where libtool is located, then you can try installing libtool from a RPM package for your Linux distribution, e.g.,

http://rpmfind.net/

Seabass
Posts:12
Joined:Mon Jul 30, 2007 2:34 pm

Same

Post by Seabass » Mon Jul 30, 2007 2:39 pm

I have the same exact problem on Ubuntu even though I have libtool installed.

Code: Select all

$./install.sh
Checking for pre-requisities.
test:28:/usr/bin/libtool: unexpected operator
libtool package is required but not installed

$which libtool
/usr/bin/libtool

Seabass
Posts:12
Joined:Mon Jul 30, 2007 2:34 pm

Post by Seabass » Mon Jul 30, 2007 2:58 pm

Ok.. I managed to fix it by changing ./install.sh
( The "test" command doesn't like that "-a" or so it seems )

Now I'm running into some other problem:

Code: Select all

$./install.sh
Checking for pre-requisites...
OK.
Configuring PacsOne Server Startup Scripts...
ln: creating symbol link '/etc/rc.d/rc5.d/S99pacsone' to '/etc/initd.d/pacsone'
: No such file or directory
ln: creating symbolic link `/etc/rc.d/rc0.d/K01pacsone` to '/etc/init.d/pacsone`
:No such file or directory
Done.
... Even thouh I get these critical errors the installation program seems to go on but I know that if it fails to copy the proper init scripts ..PACSONE will not start when I reboot my computer...
What can I do ???
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Best regards
Seabass

pacsone
Site Admin
Posts:3149
Joined:Tue Sep 30, 2003 2:47 am

Post by pacsone » Mon Jul 30, 2007 3:11 pm

Some Linux distributions put their system startup scripts under a different directory other than the /etc/init.d/ or /etc/rc.d/ folders, so you just need to find out the system startup directory for your Linux distribution, and create a symbolic link to that folder, e.g.,

Code: Select all

# ln -s /your/system/startup/dir/rc5.d/S99pacsone /etc/init.d/pacsone
# ln -s /your/system/startup/dir/rc0.d/K01pacsone /etc/init.d/pacsone
So that the server can start PacsOne automatically when it enters Run Level 5, and stop PacsOne when it reaches Run Level 0 during shutdown.

Seabass
Posts:12
Joined:Mon Jul 30, 2007 2:34 pm

Post by Seabass » Mon Jul 30, 2007 3:46 pm

OK I think my startup dir is
"/etc/rc.5d/"

I issued those commands after installation and rebooted but it seems that the PACS server is still not running ( it doesn't open a TCP/IP port ).

However: I manage to start the server manually.

pacsone
Site Admin
Posts:3149
Joined:Tue Sep 30, 2003 2:47 am

Post by pacsone » Tue Jul 31, 2007 2:28 am

Check the system startup log /var/log/messages and see if there is any error logged when executing the PacsOne startup script under /etc/rc5.d/ (or if it's ever executed) when the server is started.

Seabass
Posts:12
Joined:Mon Jul 30, 2007 2:34 pm

Post by Seabass » Wed Aug 01, 2007 11:22 pm

Ok... /var/log/messages does not contain any trace of pacsone ......

What distribution of Linux is the PACSONE team using ??? Did anyone manage to test it on Ubuntu ?? What distribution was it tested on ?

Best regards

pacsone
Site Admin
Posts:3149
Joined:Tue Sep 30, 2003 2:47 am

Post by pacsone » Thu Aug 02, 2007 1:11 am

That means the pacsone script was never executed when the server enters Run Level 5.

Try creating any executable script under "/etc/rc.5d/", e.g.:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh

echo "Dummy script executed"
Reboot the server and check the /var/log/messages system startup log, and see if the above Echo statement is in the log. If not, then it seems that the "/etc/rc.5d/" is NOT your system startup scripts folder, since the test script was not executed at all.

We have tested the Linux versions of PacsOne Server on the following distributions:

Fedora Core 4/5
SuSe Linux 9.x/10.x

And we also have customer who have installed and run PacsOne successfully on the following distributions:

Debian
Ubuntu
Gentoo
RHEL

sumit
Posts:2
Joined:Tue Jan 08, 2013 11:09 am

libtool ubuntu 12.04

Post by sumit » Tue Jan 08, 2013 11:25 am

root@pacs-server:/home/pacsone# ./install.sh
Checking for pre-requisites...
libfreetype package is required but not installed.

despite installing libfreetype it gives the above Error
Please give us the installation step to install the libfreetype

and please provide us the
installation manual of PACSONE server at UBUNTU 12.04 (precise) 32-bit
Kernel Linux 3.2.0-35-generic-pae
GNOME 3.4.2

pacsone
Site Admin
Posts:3149
Joined:Tue Sep 30, 2003 2:47 am

Post by pacsone » Tue Jan 08, 2013 5:17 pm

Try searching for the libfreetype package for your OS platform, e.g., you can find the libfreetype rpm package from RPMFIND.NET below:

http://rpmfind.net//linux/RPM/trustix/3 ... .i586.html

sumit
Posts:2
Joined:Tue Jan 08, 2013 11:09 am

Post by sumit » Wed Jan 09, 2013 4:12 pm

pacsone wrote:Try searching for the libfreetype package for your OS platform, e.g., you can find the libfreetype rpm package from RPMFIND.NET below:

http://rpmfind.net//linux/RPM/trustix/3 ... .i586.html
Thanks for the useful Link

the Installation is completed but the software was not running. i try to restart the server also but it will not working

pacsone
Site Admin
Posts:3149
Joined:Tue Sep 30, 2003 2:47 am

Post by pacsone » Wed Jan 09, 2013 5:06 pm

Did you check the syslog and check if any error has been logged during the start of PacsOne Server (or was it even being started) when Run Level 5 is reached?

Post Reply