PacsOne Performance

How to backup and/or replicate your PacsOne Server database for redunancy and fault tolerance?
ilango
Posts:2
Joined:Tue Jan 01, 2008 5:13 pm
Location:Bangalore
Contact:
PacsOne Performance

Post by ilango » Tue Jan 01, 2008 5:26 pm

Hi everyone,

I'm new to this list. I have one basic question.

What are the factors that affects Image retrieval speed in PacsOne?

I have received 216MB angeogram from CATH LAB. When i'm trying to see it in my browser, my system is hanging :oops:

apache is taking 100% of CPU :shock:

Its a Xeon 1.6GHZ Quadcore Processor with 4GB RAM. I'm running Ubuntu 64bit Linux in a 750GB HDD (SATA).

Plz.. suggest me to improve the speed.!!

pacsone
Site Admin
Posts:3149
Joined:Tue Sep 30, 2003 2:47 am

Post by pacsone » Wed Jan 02, 2008 12:56 am

It is the ImageMagick PHP extension that's converting the Dicom images into the static JPG (for single-frame) or GIF (for multi-frame) files before they can be displayed to the web browsers. It may be consuming the CPU up to 100% while converting the Dicom image since PHP is currently single-threaded.

You can modify the following variables in your PHP.INI file to avoid any errors while converting large/huge Dicom images using the ImageMagick PHP extension:

Code: Select all

max_execution_time = 0
memory_limit = 1024M

ilango
Posts:2
Joined:Tue Jan 01, 2008 5:13 pm
Location:Bangalore
Contact:

Post by ilango » Thu Jan 03, 2008 6:41 pm

Hi

Thanks a lot for your response. This is my settings.

Code: Select all

memory_limit=1024M #previously it was 128M
max_execution_time=30 #same
 
Still my performance doesnt vary. I'm not getting any errors in the previous setting also. but my server becomes very slow during conversion.

If the Single click itself taking much of the resource. then multiframe image viewing from mulitiple client will surely mess up my server.

Is there any other way to overcome this? :roll:

pacsone
Site Admin
Posts:3149
Joined:Tue Sep 30, 2003 2:47 am

Post by pacsone » Thu Jan 03, 2008 7:20 pm

It's actually not bad to convert a 206 MB Dicom images within 30 seconds, given that PHP is currently single-threaded.

If you could send a sample of such large Dicom images to pacsone@pacsone.net, we will try to optimize the ImageMagick PHP extension to try to speed up the conversion.

In the meanwhile, you can try upgrading to a faster CPU (e.g., 3.0 GHz Xeon, etc), and/or faster RAM to speed up the current conversion speed. You can also try viewing the images from the web-based viewers (Java applet or Active-X based), instead of viewing the converted JPG or GIF images from the browser.

rajesh
Posts:9
Joined:Thu May 01, 2008 6:30 am
Location:Coimbatore, India

Re : PACS Performance

Post by rajesh » Thu May 01, 2008 6:46 am

Hi :idea: ,

I reviewed the source code of image.php file.

*Every time viewing a cathlab images, first it checks gif file in thumbnails directory,
if yes then display to the user otherwise it create new thumbnail image(gif) and
put it into the thumbnails directory.

* I think creating new thumbnails takes so much time.

so why don't we convert the Cath Lab images to gif file once PACS received

from modalities before the user's first view :?: I checked

the file size of gif images, its just 12 KB.

Is any problem in that process :?:

Kindly give your feedback regarding this....

and one general question

How the PACS scheduled to send daily report daily at 12.00 AM :?:

Is it cron :?: May I know the file name or config :?:

Thanks
Rajesh

pacsone
Site Admin
Posts:3149
Joined:Tue Sep 30, 2003 2:47 am

Post by pacsone » Thu May 01, 2008 4:14 pm

1. If it takes a long time for your server to convert a Dicom image into a 12 KB GIF file, then you should consider upgrading the CPU on this server to a faster and more powerful CPU as it's probably not suited for handling server job loads.

2. It's a trade-off to do the Dicom image convertion when the end-user is clicking to view the image for the first time, versus doing the conversion when the images are received. The problem with doing the conversion when the images are received is that the same processing time is spent doing the conversion, it appears to save time because the conversion is done before the user clicks to view the images. The side effect is that the conversion is done for all received images, which may end up taking even more processing time and storage space if the users don't actually click to view every single received images.

rajesh
Posts:9
Joined:Thu May 01, 2008 6:30 am
Location:Coimbatore, India

Re : PACS Performance

Post by rajesh » Sat May 03, 2008 7:22 am

FYI the converted gif file size is 12 KB.

We'll do this conversion in low CPU usuage like 10.00 PM. We'll do

once in a day using cron.



Regards
Rajesh

rajesh
Posts:9
Joined:Thu May 01, 2008 6:30 am
Location:Coimbatore, India

Post by rajesh » Mon May 05, 2008 4:18 am

How the PACS scheduled to send daily report daily at 12.00 AM

Is it cron ? May I know the file name or config ?

pacsone
Site Admin
Posts:3149
Joined:Tue Sep 30, 2003 2:47 am

Post by pacsone » Mon May 05, 2008 4:41 pm

Yes, PacsOne sends daily statistics report emails at 12:00 am local time. This is processed by the database engine of the Dicom server component of PacsOne Server so there is no other file.

rajesh
Posts:9
Joined:Thu May 01, 2008 6:30 am
Location:Coimbatore, India

Reg : Documentation

Post by rajesh » Tue May 06, 2008 3:47 am

Is any coding documentation there for PACS ?


Thanks
Rajesh

pacsone
Site Admin
Posts:3149
Joined:Tue Sep 30, 2003 2:47 am

Post by pacsone » Tue May 06, 2008 4:03 pm

No, PacsOne Server is not an open source project, at least not yet.

rajesh
Posts:9
Joined:Thu May 01, 2008 6:30 am
Location:Coimbatore, India

Reg : Monthly Journal Report

Post by rajesh » Thu May 08, 2008 8:10 am

How to stop Monthly Journal report from PACS Server ?:?


Regards
Rajesh

rajesh
Posts:9
Joined:Thu May 01, 2008 6:30 am
Location:Coimbatore, India

Reg : Patient Code

Post by rajesh » Thu May 08, 2008 9:06 am

When I receiving Patient code from Some modalities it added modalities number

in patient code

Ex.

1.200805080009[LS6-0-0508101036]

2. HC 1860 (200805080090)

I need only 12 Digit code from above two.

In PACS there is option called Data Element coercion Page using this we can

add only before the patient code.

Is any idea to trim those characters ?


Thanks
Rajesh

pacsone
Site Admin
Posts:3149
Joined:Tue Sep 30, 2003 2:47 am

Re: Reg : Patient Code

Post by pacsone » Thu May 08, 2008 4:48 pm

rajesh wrote: 1.200805080009[LS6-0-0508101036]
These are flagged duplicate Patient IDs, which means there is an existing patient record with the same Patient ID "200805080009", but different Patient Names from those in the newly received images, most likely the result of operator typos at the input modality. You can resolve these duplicate Patient IDs by clicking on the Tools -> Resolve Duplicate Patient ID menu.

rajesh
Posts:9
Joined:Thu May 01, 2008 6:30 am
Location:Coimbatore, India

Re : Reg : Patient Code

Post by rajesh » Fri May 09, 2008 3:40 am

1.I think that may be a one reason but while sending images to PACS from modalities

they add the reference number like HC 1860 in patient code for their reference

so how can we trim those characters in source code ?

HC 1860 (200805080090)


2. How to stop Monthly Journal report from PACS Server ? due to file size.

It took 2 MB per mail.

Post Reply