Trying to download a study gives blank page

Known bugs reported by PacsOne users
Post Reply
glong
Posts:6
Joined:Fri Jun 06, 2008 2:38 pm
Trying to download a study gives blank page

Post by glong » Tue Jun 24, 2008 8:06 pm

I am using Pacsone premium,(currently with temp license),on CentOS 5.1,is seems to work well. We are able to transfer data using the AE titles. The problem is when we go to the web interface and select a study and press the download button it takes us to a blank page instead of asking if we would like to save as a zip. I have tried both Firefox and IE with the same result. Any ideas?

pacsone
Site Admin
Posts:3149
Joined:Tue Sep 30, 2003 2:47 am

Post by pacsone » Tue Jun 24, 2008 10:06 pm

This is most likely PHP timing out after the default timeout value of 30 seconds, if you are download a study with large number of images, as the download script compresses each image of the study into a temporary zip file for downloading.

Try setting the PHP timeout value to 0 (never timeout) in your php.ini file:

Code: Select all

max_execution_time = 0
Restart Apache for the change to take effect, then PHP will not timeout while executing PHP scripts and you should no longer experience the blank page.

glong
Posts:6
Joined:Fri Jun 06, 2008 2:38 pm

Post by glong » Thu Jun 26, 2008 4:12 pm

This solved the problem for downloading slices, however downloading an entire study gives a blank page. Here is a snippet from my php.ini. Should I change the memory setting? If so what would be a more reasonable setting?
; Resource Limits ;
;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;

max_execution_time = 0 ; Maximum execution time of each script, in seconds
max_input_time = 60 ; Maximum amount of time each script may spend parsing request data
memory_limit = 32M ; Maximum amount of memory a script may consume

Thanks for your help.

Gary

pacsone
Site Admin
Posts:3149
Joined:Tue Sep 30, 2003 2:47 am

Post by pacsone » Thu Jun 26, 2008 11:34 pm

If the study being downloaded contains fairly large number of images, you should also increase the Maximum Memory Limit to a larger number in your php.ini file, e.g.:

Code: Select all

memory_limit = 256M
The number depends on the average size of the images of the study being downloaded, and the number of images in that study. For example, if the study has 100 images, and the average size of image is 0.5 Mbytes per image, then the above memory limit in the php.ini file should be at least 64 MB.

Remember to restart Apache after changing the php.ini file for the changes to take effect.

LMSSML
Posts:71
Joined:Thu Sep 04, 2008 9:17 pm

The same

Post by LMSSML » Thu Sep 04, 2008 9:30 pm

Hi there

I made the changes need has described but I get always dthe following error

Fatal error: Allowed memory size of 134217728 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate 52722678 bytes) in C:\Program Files\PacsOne\php\download.php on line 214

the php.ini file in resources is like this:

;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;
; Resource Limits ;
;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;

max_execution_time = 0 Maximum execution time of each script, in seconds
max_input_time = 60 ; Maximum amount of time each script may spend parsing request data
;max_input_nesting_level = 64 ; Maximum input variable nesting level
memory_limit = 1024M ; Maximum amount of memory a script may consume (128MB)

Tried 1024M by the last time can anyone give me a feedback about this ?


Best Regards.

pacsone
Site Admin
Posts:3149
Joined:Tue Sep 30, 2003 2:47 am

Post by pacsone » Thu Sep 04, 2008 10:14 pm

It looks like your current memory limit for running PHP scripts is 128 MB, not the 1024 MB configured as you mentioned below. So can you check the following:

1. Did you restart Apache/IIS after making the changes in your PHP.INI file? The restart is necessary in order for the change to take effect.

2. Are you modifying the correct PHP.INI file? The full path of the correct PHP.INI file can be found from the output of the test page:

http://localhost/pacsone/Hello.php

LMSSML
Posts:71
Joined:Thu Sep 04, 2008 9:17 pm

Study is longer

Post by LMSSML » Thu Sep 04, 2008 10:42 pm

Hi there again

Thanks for the quick reply pacsone.

Indeed
1. Did you restart Apache/IIS after making the changes in your PHP.INI file? The restart is necessary in order for the change to take effect.
I'm using apache and yes I restart everytime I change PHP.ini
2. Are you modifying the correct PHP.INI file? The full path of the correct PHP.INI file can be found from the output of the test page:
An once again yes it's the correct php.ini file, but by the way I've confirmed.

I forgot to tell on the other post that the exam I'm trying to download has aproximately 1978 images, to be correct.

Thanks for feedback I wait for another :?

:?

pacsone
Site Admin
Posts:3149
Joined:Tue Sep 30, 2003 2:47 am

Post by pacsone » Fri Sep 05, 2008 3:50 am

There seems to be conflicting information in your PHP error log where it indicated the maximum memory limit was 128 MB:
Fatal error: Allowed memory size of 134217728 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate 52722678 bytes) in C:\Program Files\PacsOne\php\download.php on line 214
while your PHP.INI file seems to have the limit set to 1024 MB instead.

Can you check the memory_limit variable in the output of the test page below to see which limit is correct?

http://localhost/pacsone/Hello.php

LMSSML
Posts:71
Joined:Thu Sep 04, 2008 9:17 pm

Done

Post by LMSSML » Fri Sep 05, 2008 7:11 pm

Hi found that making a new php.ini and change the parameters that people here told solved my problem.

Thanks to all

Post Reply